The Five Best Books Ive Read In 2017 So Far

I barely read anything so far in 2017. I was so busy and I hated that I had to put books aside for so long. I don’t even have a good record of the books I’ve read. But these five books were wondrous reads. They blew my mind, and if you read them, I hope they blew your mind too.

We Are The Ants by David Hutchinson

Read this for an individual project for diversity, and aliens totally fit as diversity? Right? There were thousands of other books I could’ve chosen, but I just needed an excuse to have my mother buy this book for me, and it was so worth it. We Are The Ants took all of my attention early on, I loved how normal yet odd it was as well as how it touched so many issues (young pregnancy, bullying, suicide, society-against-LGBT, depression and others), but shows responsibility and character development due to the issues and it’s a beautiful example of those issues in a literary setting.

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illumnae in 2016 was a blast, Gemina in 2017 was the series of explosions in a good Hollywood action movie that you just watch with awe and amazement. It had so much going on and I could barely read 50 pages without an unpredictable twist that just had me wanting to read more. I can’t wait for book three, for at this rate, it will make my head explode.

Throne Of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

The first book of 2017. Not sure if it is my favourite of the series yet, however it is what started it all. Throne of Glass was fantasy trip with the most badass of female assassins which I cannot stop LOVING! seriously, help me bring her to life.

The Winners Kiss by Marie Rutkoski

And the final book in the trilogy, better than the first two. Kestrel has become a force to be reckoned with, her talents have become honed and stronger and more sophisticated than before. She is a lovely genius full of heart and I just want a book four no matter how well Rutkoski rounded off her trilogy.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Do I even need to say anything about this? If you haven’t heard it from anyone, Caraval is bliss and glory condensed into 407 pages. What makes it so great? The setting, the characters, the magic, the mystery and the plot twists. It’s genial and beutiful, I love it so much and cant wait for book two, especially with the new mystery.

Comment below your favourite books of 2017 so far, or a link to a similar post of yours!

About FishThatReads

Swimming Through Pages

1 Response

Leave a Reply

