Author Interview & Giveaway: In Real Life by Jessica Love

Hi,

This is my first blog tour and I have to say I am so proud of it. Its of a book I have the highest hopes for and one Ill be starting tonight.

So, its been forever since I posted anything on this blog let alone write a review. I was swamped with robotics that Im so behind on reading. I got my review copy of In Real Life by Jessica Love on one of my robotics trips, then came home three days later to finally open the package. Sadly, I have not yet manage to read that since that was just two days ago. Repeat: blame robotic. Lets go march on Dean Kamen!

21525995ABOUT THE BOOK

Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since 8th grade. They talk for hours on the phone, Skype all the time, regularly send each other presents, and know everything there is to know about one another. There’s just one problem…Hannah and Nick have never actually met. Hannah has spent her entire life doing what she’s supposed to, but when her senior year spring break plans get ruined by a rule-breaker at school, she decides to finally break a rule or two herself. She impulsively decides to road trip to Vegas, with her older sister and BFF in tow, to surprise Nick and finally declare her more-than-a-friend feelings for him.

Hannah’s romantic gesture backfires when she gets to Vegas and meets Nick’s girlfriend, whom he failed to mention to Hannah for the past three months. And it turns out his relationship status isn’t the only thing he’s been lying to her about. Hannah knows the real Nick can’t be that different from the online Nick she knows and loves, but now she only has one night in Sin City to figure out what her feelings for Nick really are, all while discovering how life can change when you break the rules every now and then.

AUTHOR INTERVIEW

1) What inspired you to write ‘In Real Life’

A reality show! (And, no, it wasn’t Catfish. I actually wrote this book before the first season of Catfish ever aired.) I was watching a reality show about these people who had been friends for years, but they had only spoken on the phone and had never met in person. I was fascinated by the idea of this relationship, and I thought it would make an interesting YA novel.

2) If you had to associate a food with your novel, what food would it be and why?

Ooh, this is a tough question! In an earlier version of the book, Hannah had some weird issues with food. I mostly edited them all out, but there is one part she has a chocolate cake and mentions that she doesn’t usually eat stuff like that. So I’m going to associate this book with chocolate cake…it’s something Hannah knows she wants but denies herself for a long time. And when she finally gets it, it’s super yummy!

3) Which character is most like you in ‘In Real Life’, and why?

I didn’t mean to make Hannah like me when I first started writing her, but the more I revised the book, the more she started to inherit some of my traits. For every review I read that says “I couldn’t stand Hannah because <insert annoying character trait here>” I have to laugh because all the things readers find annoying about Hannah are things that she got from me. I guess I’m annoying…haha.

4) What is something you have done accidentally or in the spur of the moment, and actually turned out really well for you?

I impulsively quit my job in advertising. It was all I’d ever wanted to do, but when I actually started doing it I realized how much it was not for me. I decided to go back to school full time (which was a tough adjustment from having a full time job) and get my teaching credential, which was a decision that seemed to come out of nowhere. I had never even considered being a teacher in my life…not even for a second. That was over ten years ago, and it was the best random decision I’ve ever made. I love being a teacher!

5) Where is the one place you would love to be right now? (Real or Fictional)

I was supposed to go to Greece and Croatia last summer, but instead I got pregnant and had my son. I’m sad I didn’t get to go on that dream trip, so that’s where I wish I was right now…on a beach in Croatia somewhere. (But I wish it was summer, too.)

The Rafflecopter Giveaway Link

PRAISE

“A sweet, honest story that begins as so many of our relationships do: online.” —Emery Lord, author of Open Road Summer

“Love expertly creates a timely and entertaining story set on the glamorous Vegas strip, complete with rock and roll, gambling, love, and drama. Readers will relate to the characters in this book and their effortless use of technology to support relationships.” —School Library Journal

“[A] sweet story ideal for contemporary teens whose lives play out in similar computer-and-text-message-related ways.” —Booklist

“The story manages to find its heart when it focuses on Hannah and Nick’s relationship. The warmth and intimacy of their friendship is convincing, and readers sighing over their long history will root for their relationship.” —Kirkus Reviews

 

About FishThatReads

Swimming Through Pages

6 Responses

Leave a Reply

